My Favourite Game from the Previous Generation

Well the lights are dimming and the 3 musketeers of last generation are saying farewell. There was an explosive amount of great games that arrived for the Xbox 360, PS3 and PC (and maybe the Wii…maybe). Now it is time for me to choose my personal favourite title of last gen. When I thought about what game I enjoyed most, I knew instantly what it was but I wanted to properly evaluate it’s close competitors. In the end I have chosen. The great games that missed out contained LA Noire, Deus Ex : Human Revolution, The Witcher 2, Red Dead Redemption, Dark Souls and many, many more. So here it is, my personal favourite game of the 7th console generation.

(Just to remind you that this is my opinion and if that upsets you then I’m sorry, my bad)

Portal 2 

ImageI imagine all of you to be screaming “WHAT!? Where is the Last of Us you prat!”, but then again, no one says prat anymore. The reason why Last of Us is not even going to be considered in my games of all time/generation/year list is rather simply because I’ve not played it. Ok, now that that’s out of the way I can start kissing Valve’s shoes.

When Portal 2 was announced I was as hyped, Portal (1) was a terrific wee game and with a squeal arriving I couldn’t be anymore excited. Then the nearer it came to launch I got less and less hyped because I forgot all about it until it was released. But I’m happy I bought this outstanding game. The reason it is my favourite game of last gen (maybe even of all time) is because of reasons which I shall type out below.

When it comes to narratives, Portal 2 has – in my opinion – one of the greatest out there. It is finely paced, toned and other adjectives that convey a positive opinion. A hilariously smart and witty story, accessible to all and with iconic charecters with fantasticly written personalities and perfect voice actors for the job. From start to finish Erik Wolpaw, Jay Pinkerton and Chet Faliszek created a magnificent story with twists, turns, comedy, action, drama, singing, radios, birds and lemons.

There are people whom I know who dislike games that are solely puzzle games. That’s an opinion which has put many off of Portal 2. I myself enjoy puzzle games that have simple mechanics but test them in complex matters. Portal 2’s puzzle mechanics are tough, fun and unique. There is also that amazing feeling when you solve a relatively easy test chamber after hours of attempts. Here’s hoping that next gen will deliver even more, fantastic laid back games that don’t revolve around the basis of killing people – I’m not complaining that violence in video games is bad, I love violent games, but seeing a change from murder is a nice change.

“All right, I’ve been thinking, when life gives you lemons, don’t make lemonade! Make life take the lemons back! Get Mad! I don’t want your damn lemons! What am I supposed to do with these? Demand to see life’s manager! Make life rue the day it thought it could give Cave Johnson lemons! Do you know who I am? I’m the man whose gonna burn your house down – with the lemons! I’m gonna get my engineers to invent a combustible lemon that’ll burn your house down!” – Cave Johnson

Image“The end”

 

 

Leave a Reply

